- Alcona County -

Alcona County is located in the northeastern portion of the lower peninsula. It is bounded by Alpena County (north), Iosco County (south), Oscoda County (west), and Lake Huron (east). It was created by the state legislature on April 1, 1840, and attached to Mackinac County. The original name, "Negwegon," was changed to its present name in 1843, although it remained attached to other counties until its organization in 1869. Attached to Mackinac 1840-1852, Cheboygan 1853-1856, Alpena 1857, Iosco 1858 and Alpena County (again) in 1859.

The county seat, and largest city, is Harrisville. Originally known as Davison's Mill, after early settler Crosier Davison, and given its present name in 1857. The township and village were named after the firm of Harris Bros; Levi O. Harris being named the first postmaster. The community was platted in 1870, incorporated as a village in 1887 and incorporated as a city in 1905.


Bibles Biographies Births Cemeteries

Census Court Crime Deaths

Deeds Directories Disasters History

Institutions Lighthouse Maps Marriages

Military News Bits Obituary Resources

Schools Taxes * *

the first and only nonprofit
historical-genealogical web hosting service on the Internet!
Support Free-access Online History and Genealogy.
Support USGenNet!

This page last updated on  (none)
Today is Sunday, February 25, 2024

USGenNet Inc., 2004 - 2023, All Rights Reserved